CQI Certificate in Quality Management Practices

The CQI Certificate in Quality Management provides an understanding of what quality means in an organisational context and of the component parts of the quality management process. The Certificate is suitable for quality technicians, customer service team leaders, operations team leaders and engineering technicians. The CQI Certificate is widely respected by employers worldwide and provides a foundation for further qualifications in quality management, including the CQI Level 5 Diploma in Quality Management or any of the CQI Level 5 Certificates.

What you will study

The CQI Certificate in Quality Management course is divided into five units of study, each of which is assessed separately. The CQI expect learners to complete the full Certificate within two years.

a) U301 – People in Quality. 
Principles of Leadership and Motivation; Group Dynamics; Influence of the Quality Gurus on Work; Organisation; Organisational Support for Team Activities; Communication

b) U302 – Management System Models. 
Management System Models and Standards; Standards; Other Applications for Standards and Conformity Assessment; Integrated Management Systems

c) U303 – Monitoring and Measuring for Quality. 
Fundamental Principles; Criteria for Selection; Types of Data Collection; Tools for Data Collection

d) U304 – Quality Management. 
Understanding Quality; The Evolution of Quality; Key Components of Quality Management; Principles of Quality; The PDCA Cycle; Process Design

e) U305 – Using Quality to Improve Business Performance.
Principles and Benefits; The Problem-Solving Process

Recommended hours of study: 120 hours

Units 302, 303 and 305 are each assessed by a written examination. Units 301 and 304 are each assessed by a 4,000-5,000 word assignment. Learners must successfully complete all 5 units before they are awarded the CQI Certificate in Quality Management. Unit assessment is held twice a year, in January and June.

Back to top